District Logo
Independence Middle School's Power of the Pen Team Excels in Writing Competition
Independence Middle School's Power of the Pen Team Excels in Writing Competition Independence Middle School’s Power of the Pen Team Excels in Writing Competitions

If you had 40 minutes to complete these prompts in a written essay, how would you do?

#1 Almost _____________
Complete this phrase to use as your central theme.

#2 You are the voice of Planet Earth.
Make a desperate plea for your survival.

#3 It wasn’t easy to get rid of it.
Describe how you did.

There are 11 Independence Middle School Power of the Pen team members whom have devoted hours of their time practicing creative writing skills in order to excel at the Power of the Pen competitions, and to answering prompts like the aforementioned.
The team meets weekly with teacher/advisor Mrs. Jill Wagner, and practices answering prompts and discussing the various writing techniques needed to win a writing competition. Sporadically, extra practice prompts are given to each member to be answered at home.

Six of the team members qualified for the district competition on February 13 at Cuyahoga Heights Middle School. They are Laura Artuso, Rachel de Haan, Carolyn Klima, Hannah Krzywkowski, Elek McDonald and Avery Strychasz.

Among the 23 public and private middle schools competing, the Independence Middle School writing team took first place at the district competition. Individual awards included Avery Strychasz – 10th place overall (126 contestants); Laura Artuso – 11th place; Rachel de Haan – Director’s Choice Award; Avery Strychasz – Best of Round Award; and Carolyn Klima – Best of Round Award. The team was presented with a trophy and individual winners received medals and ribbons. Rachel’s Director’s Choice essay will be published in the Power of the Pen The Winners of 2016. “Rachel will be a published author as an eighth-grader, so she has a very promising literacy future,” said Wagner.

The regional competition was March 12 at St. Joseph Academy. Individual awards included Carolyn Klima - 8th place out of nearly 120 writers (qualified for the State competition in May.); Rachel de Haan - Director’s Choice Award and earned a Best of the Best writing award. Both Klima and de Haan qualified for the State competition to be held in May at the College of Wooster. Results have not arrived for the rest of the team.

Last year, the IMS writing team earned second place at the regional competition and had two State finalists.
Print This Article
font size
safe school help line
map directions
staff link
Education Administration Center  |  7733 Stone Road  |  Independence, OH 44131
P: (216) 642-5850  |  F: (216) 642-3482 | Hours: Mon-Fri 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM