Print    Close This Window
Independence High School Inducts National Honor Society Students
IHS National Honor Society 2017-18On February 2, Independence High School inducted 26 students to the National Honor Society. The ceremony was held before family members, administration and staff at the Independence Civic Center.

The National Honor Society (NHS) represents the highest honor and trust that can be bestowed on a junior or senior student in high school. The society recognizes students for scholarship, leadership, character, and service. To be considered for membership, students must demonstrate and promote these qualities as well as try to improve conditions in the school and community.

Qualifications for the National Honor Society are: students must be a junior or senior student and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5. They must fill out paperwork including an online application, a “Verification of Statements of Leadership,” and an NHS Teacher/Staff recommendation agreement. Junior students must have 30 documented service hours and senior students must have 40 hours. Finally, students must submit an essay along with their application.

This year’s IHS National Honor Society members are: Lindsey Adams, Caroline Barto, Sam Belitz, Hannah Botzman, Karah Chappel, Shane Clough, Nicole Dolansky, Erica Esper, Hannah Fleming, Taylor Gillespie, Madeline Harper, Grace Heldwein, Andrea Kilma, Colette Liepert, Grace Mousty, Emily Reed, Kimberly Rega, Emily Rundle, Nina Savastano, Emma Somrak, Brian Synek, Joe Wisniewski, Luke Wisniewski, Andre Yost, Dominique Zimon, and Diamanda Zizis.