Independence Local Schools News Article

Independence High School Inducts Students into National Honor Society

IHS National Honor Society

On April 18, Independence High School (IHS) inducted 27 students into the National Honor Society. The ceremony was held before family members, administration, and staff at the Independence Civic Center. The open message was delivered by David Baran, I.H.S. Class of 2007.

The National Honor Society (NHS) represents the highest honor and trust that can be bestowed on a junior or senior student in high school. The society recognizes students for scholarship, leadership, character, and service. To be considered for membership, students must demonstrate and promote these qualities as well as try to improve conditions in the school and community.

Qualifications for the National Honor Society are: students must be a junior or senior student and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5. They must fill out paperwork including an online application, a “Verification of Statements of Leadership,” and an NHS Teacher/Staff recommendation agreement. Junior students must have 30 documented service hours and senior students must have 40 hours. Finally, students must submit an essay along with their application.

This year’s IHS National Honor Society members are: Thomas Ceculski, Thorin Chappel, Rachel de Haan, Molly Dougherty, Saikishore Gowrishankar, Carolyn Klima, Alexis Kovesdi, Anthony Londrico, Maria McCollum, Elek McDonald, Emma McGreal, Izabell McGreevy, Olivia Michota, Olivia Pallini, Heather Patacca, Sarah Piteo, Anthony Presot, Tyler Sagi, James Senick, Avery Strychasz, Jenna Suhy, Melanie Tagliarini, Kate Taliaferro, Kirsten Taras, Riley Wilson, Kana Wisniewski, and Arabella Zambito.

“We are so proud of this year’s NHS inductees,” said Principal Bill McGuinness, Independence High School. “They are leaders in the classroom, on athletic fields and courts, and in our community. The quality of their character has served them well in their time at IHS, and we know that they will continue on this positive path in the future.” 

Print This Article
View text-based website