John Carroll Accounting Day
The Ohio Society of CPAs hosted a High School Accounting Career Day at John Carroll University on November 20, 2015. Independence High School was represented by Evan Collins and Bobby Roddy.  The High School Accounting Career Day brings together area college-bound high school students for an exciting day of career exploration.
IHS Senior Recognized with Youth in Philanthropy Award
On November 6, 2015, Elena Paparizos, a senior at Independence High School, was honored with the “Youth in Philanthropy” Award presented by the Association of Fundraising Professionals Cleveland Chapter. She was nominated by Karen Kannenburg, CFRE, Cleveland Metroparks. The award is presented to a young person in Northeast Ohio who demonstrates an outstanding commitment, through volunteerism, encouragement and motivation to his or her peers, to take leadership roles in philanthropy. 
Superintendent Spotlight Fall Video
Take a moment to watch Superintendent Ben Hegedish's inaugural "Superintendent Spotlight" video.  In this episode, he visits the students of Independence Primary School.  Click here to watch.  Thank you to IHS Junior Nick Bonvissuto for serving as our videographer. 
District is Looking for Next Guiding Star Recipients
Independence Local Schools will be recognizing a teacher and a staff member this semester.  The Guiding Star Awards allow the community, staff, and students to nominate a teacher and a staff member that have gone over and beyond the call of duty and truly made a difference to a student(s) or colleague.  Nominations are due November 20 for the first semester award.  Click here for a teacher nomination form.  Click here for a staff member nomination form. 
Independence High School  |  6001 Archwood Road  |  Independence, OH 44131
P: (216) 642-5860  |  F: (216) 642-5886 | Hours: Mon-Fri 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Quick-Edit Login